Posted in Addiction, Animals, family, Harley, Health, love, Love Life, Mental Health, Miscellaneous, opiate addiction, Sobriety, Trauma Therapy Adventure, treatment, Updates

11 Months, 26 Days

In 4 days I will have 1 year sober! Do you understand how excited I am??? Probably not since I haven’t said how excited I am! Well, I’m extremely excited. I have accomplished so much in the past year. 
The first thing I’m proud of is that I actually got off the drugs, more specifically, the pills. While I was in my addiction, I always went up in the dosage and never down. Well not because I wanted to anyways. 

I started out taking three strips of Suboxone a day. Then a few months later I went down to two strips.  A few months later down to one strip, and now I’m down to one 8mg strip every other day. That’s not the fastest anyone has gone down, but that’s a huge thing for me.  

In the past year I’ve accomplished more than I have accomplished in the 33 years prior. I’ve grown up so much, became hired at a great business and became a better person. A much, much better person. 

There are two, only two things on my list to complete this year. I have decided that for me, the best way for me to complete my goals are to pick a few to accomplish every year. This year my goals were to start working, go every day, not be late, get a car for cheap, clean it up a bit, get my license back, get insurance, get my boys back or at least visitations with them, complete therapy, complete the parenting class, and finally, get a place of my own. 

I was hired at Arvato in July. My first day was July 11th. The day before my 34th birthday 🙂 Out of the 20 people that started, I think there are only 8 of us left. I’m the only one out of them all to not miss any work. I’m a little disappointed that there was no recognition for this, but maybe there will be later on down the road. I worked hard those 7 weeks. It was a lot of new information that I really didn’t know about. That saying you can’t teach an old dog new tricks? Well, it’s wrong 😉 

Arvato is a worldwide business that started in Germany. They are located all over the world and are a bunch of call centers and warehouses for many different digital companies. Some of the bigger companies that are part of Bertelsmann (arvato’s parent company) are, RGM and Penguin Publishing. Arvato’s bigger clients are Microsoft, Netflix, and finally Ally Bank. 

Ally is the bank I work for. Before working for Ally/Arvato, I really only knew about medical and some law stuff. I knew basic stuff, like what checking and savings accounts were. I remember my grandpa had a CD for me, but I didn’t know what a CD was. I learned a lot in the 7 weeks of training we went through, but even more during the past four weeks that I’ve been on the phones, helping people manage their money. 

The pay isn’t great, but I’m learning so much and helping people which is what I love to do! I’m a general agent right now with hopes of becoming a lead agent, or supervisor. There are other specialities like IRA and Trust, but those don’t really interest me. The first and foremost thing I like to do is to help people. I like to give people the correct way of doing things, so everything goes smoothly for them. 

I love having a super mad person on the phone, and being able to calm them down. Part of being a lead is answering other agent’s questions about banking. Another part is taking supervisor calls, good and bad. So, being a lead would be perfect for me! 

A few weeks ago Alonzo saw a little Honda Accord for sale for $600. So we went and looked at it one night after I got off work. I decided I wanted it. It’s a bucket, but that’s what I wanted right now! The paint is oxidized, some of the interior is ripped up, it needs some tlc, and not a whole lot of work needs to be done to it. Alonzo offered the guy $500 and he accepted! And, Alonzo being the nice guy that he is, only asked me for $250! So I now have my little bucket and only had to pay $250 for it! 

Either late this year or next I will probably trade it in for something a little newer, without as many miles. It has about 234,000 miles on it, but it runs like a champ! Gotta love Hondas! 

I filed for bankruptcy earlier this year, and was finally able to get my license back! I had been driving without one since 2011. Not good! My picture is horrid on my license, but I’m proud of myself for finally getting it back! Now I just need to get some insurance. It has gotten so expensive since I last had it! $100 a month is the cheapest I’ve found, but I need to get it before October comes around. 

I still haven’t talked or seen my boys. There’s a court date on October 11th. It’s called a “Call Case” which I’m hoping means they’re just going to be on the phone and I’ll be there in person. I’m going to make an appointment with an attorney on Monday. I sent them an email and they said he could help me! Hopefully I can go in there with all of my accomplishments and they’ll give me visitations back. I need those boys and they need me. That’s all there is to it. 

In April I completed trauma therapy! Woo hoo! I have felt so much better since being trauma free. I think I can give thanks to this program for changing me into the better person that I am today. I also completed the parenting class. I’m on my way to getting those boys back in my arms. 

Next year I want to be in my own place, with Alonzo, all three of my boys, and miss Harley Quinn. I hope to be working as a lead or supervisor. Maybe we’ll be married or at least still doing good. If you’ve read this entire post, I’m proud of you! It’s a long one! If you feel like you just can’t go on and that life is never going to get better, read through my posts. It’s been an uphill battle, but it is possible. Anything is possible if you believe! 

Author:

I love many things; my boys, recovery, painting, drawing, crocheting, knitting, and the list goes on. Recovery from PTSD and addiction. Acrylic and watercolor painting. Soft yarn, in neutral colors. This is my place to ramble and not have to hear the judgements of others. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “11 Months, 26 Days

Leave a Reply

