Posted in Addiction, family, Health, Helping the Homeless, love, Mental Health, Miscellaneous, treatment

Good Things Come To Those That Do Good

This past weekend was the beginning of our summer here in central Washington. We actually had a spring this year!

It was scorching hot, as it is in the desert, so Alonzo and I decided to buy popsicles and hand them out to the homeless. 

The homeless have been in the news a lot the past month. They set up camp in the middle of town, which really pissed off a lot of businesses and neighbors. 

The city put outhouses and wash stations up for them, so they wouldn’t go to the bathroom in their neighbors yards. 

It was really eye opening and sad. We gave them all about two popsicles each. They flocked to the car like flies on shit. It was sad, but it also made me feel good to be able to make them happy for a few minutes. 

There were 30 families, couples, singles, older people, younger people, mentally ill people, sane people, addicts. All different colors, but mostly the same shapes. Skin and bones. The shapes of skeletons. 

Faded tattoos covered their skin. I wanted to hear all of their stories. What happened to make them homeless? Is it their addictions? Some I’m sure. Is it their mental health? Possibly. Whatever their story is, I respect it and respect how they live today. 

They aren’t that different from you and me. They have families, people they care about. They just live in tents instead of houses. 

They were very thankful for the popsicles. I wish we could do more, but we aren’t that different. The only difference between them and me is I have a super support system that has taken me in and allowed me to stay here until I could get back on my feet.

Please take a moment out of your day to educate yourself about the homeless. Maybe even donate to a local charity. Let’s take care of the people in our country! We need each other!

Author:

I love many things; my boys, recovery, painting, drawing, crocheting, knitting, and the list goes on. Recovery from PTSD and addiction. Acrylic and watercolor painting. Soft yarn, in neutral colors. This is my place to ramble and not have to hear the judgements of others. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

