Posted in Health, Mental Health, opiate addiction, treatment

Professional? Not So Much!

So a few weeks ago I had to find a new doctor. There aren’t many in this town that accept my insurance, so I picked what I thought would be the best one. It’s a clinic with doctors but also has a lot of interns. They could also get me in within days, which I needed.

I have had a lot of support throughout this new journey of being sober. The pharmacy is really supportive, my dentist, and just people in general. With this in mind, I went into this new doctor’s office thinking they would be supportive too.

I was in for a rude awakening! Everything was going great until she asked for my meds. I got to Suboxone and the medical assistants attitude did a total turn. You’d think I said I had just shot up some heroin! She became very frustrated with me and also treated me like I was incompetent of anything.

I worked in the Healthcare system from 1999 to 2007. I have a pretty good sense of my body and what’s wrong with it and always have. She, the medical assistant, appeared to believe she was above me because I am an addict.

Just because I’m an addict doesn’t mean I’m stupid or deserve to be treated that way! Nobody does! Addicts usually have pretty low self esteem. Do you think by belittling them and making them feel about an inch tall that they’re going to feel good about themselves? No. They’re going to want to get the hell out of there and use.

So, just remember that addicts are people too. Some with multiple degrees, some without a high school diploma. Try lifting their spirits up instead of dragging them down even more. Raise their self esteem as much as you can. Be a benefit in the war on addiction!

Girl71282

Author:

I love many things; my boys, recovery, painting, drawing, crocheting, knitting, and the list goes on. Recovery from PTSD and addiction. Acrylic and watercolor painting. Soft yarn, in neutral colors. This is my place to ramble and not have to hear the judgements of others. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

